Skip to content

March 11, 2011

I don’t know how the last 16 days came and went and I couldn’t find an hour to sit down and tell you all about something.
So this will be the post to end the dry streak: Mardi Gras.

 

Mardi Gras was unlike anything I have ever experienced before. I saw more skin then I wanted to, have a grasp on what a giant stampede of people must feel like, and have a new appreciation for living in Birmingham.  Not to say that I didn’t enjoy every second of Mardi Gras, I just saw and experienced things that I never expected. No need to go into detail though- for those who have been to or heard of Mardi Gras experiences, I will just let your mind wander. Our day started off with an early morning parade: Turks, in which gothically-dressed marching bands, star wars characters, men with women’s undergarments on their heads, and the infamous Rob and Big graced the road before our eyes. From then on, it was a day of  Bourbon Street craziness and escaping the forbidden rains at a friend’s house, with a lottery ticket extravaganza, meeting new friends, experiencing Tropical Isle, dancing in the rain, and eating king cake falling somewhere in the mix of things.

No comments yet

Comment

