Skip to content

The First Week

June 4, 2010

Soles4Souls rocks.  In the past week, I have learned…

1. Connections are so important in any industry.  Soles4Souls would not be where it is today if the creator and owner, Wayne Elsey, did not have tons of connections in the shoe industry.  So get out there and make connections because they will definitely lead you to success.  I promise.

2. Social networking is probably going to take over the world.  Know how to use twitter, even if you think it is the most lame thing ever.

3. I went to a business luncheon and at the end of it was asked, “what is one thing you have learned from so-and-so?”  Well, I learned my lesson: pay attention.  I think I said something to the client like, “I have learned that you are going to do a great job”… Oops.

4. Bring your lunch to work (this only applies to people that work in the rattiest parts of town).  It was especially interesting when we went to a mexican restaurant and a girl I work with, Katie, went barefoot because of Soles4Souls Barefoot Week.  I don’t think she would recommend going into a restaurant barefoot, especially mexican.

5. And most importantly, I have learned that the Haitians are truly in need of help.  Nearly 1.7 million of them are living in tents and it is supposed to be one of the worst hurricane seasons ever.  At this point, the Haitians don’t want material goods.  They just want jobs so that they can purchase food and build a home for their family.  And all it takes for them to live a good life is $2 a day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2010 10:54 pm

    You are right!! I do not recommend it…and ALWAYS bring your lunch while working at Soles4Souls…we arent in kansas(or greenhills) anymore toto..:( but hey..bringing lunch is fun and more time for delicious meals to prepare!! WE LOVE HAVING YOU!! HOPE YOU ARE HAVING A GREAT WEEKEND!

  2. Spencer permalink
    June 6, 2010 7:14 pm

    I’ve only been at work and I can tell you #2 is the biggest thing i’ve learned also.

Comment

